The Complaint
While browsing Reddit this morning, I came across an interesting post from user cyrus9020. His post can be viewed below, or at this link.
I google open office and the first (paid) link is this: http://www.open-office.us/index.html . It seems to be openoffice from the pictures but i looked at the terms part of the website and I found this: “You can download and use the software OpenOffice for this website totally free. However, you can not modify the software without permission.”. Wtf? this isn’t open source. I’m confused how they can legally do this. Can someone explain it to me.
While there is certainly an interesting conversation attached to this post, there have been no attempts to investigate this site to completely satisfy this query. I couldn’t resist…
The Investigation
It was completely clear to me after seeing the webpage in question that is was not the property of Apache. Though it is quite deceptive. The professional appearance of this page is disturbingly welcoming to its potential prey. Take a look.
Whois
The first step was an obvious one. Run a whois lookup on open-office.us. Unsurprisingly, this revealed that the registrant was not affiliated with Apache in any way. Here are the goods from my whois lookup.
Registrant Name: Open-Office.US Team Registrant Organization: Open-Office.US Registrant Address1: 5 Repulse Bay Roard, Flat 3B Registrant City: Hong Kong Registrant State/Province: Hong Kong Registrant Postal Code: 00000 Registrant Country: Hong Kong Registrant Country Code: HK Registrant Phone Number: +852.92694911 Registrant Email: support@open-office.us
What’s most surprising here is that the registrant used GoDaddy as its registrar, though elected not to use GoDaddy’s whois privacy feature. Now I’m no scam artist, but if I were peddling wares on the outskirts of legality and morality, I would probably keep my personal details out of it. Ironically, this repulsive ‘business’ resides in the Repulse Bay.
The website, while being a fairly simple affair, does try its best to appear legitimate. The domain seems to suggest that they reside in the US and there is nothing there to indicate that their operations are in Hong Hong. The site claims to even offer support to its users, imploring downloaders to email them at support@open-office.us. They promising a 2 day turn around on support queries.
We’ve emailed them. Do you think we will hear back?
Installation
Installing Open Office via open-office.us reveals the true intent of the application. Upon launching the application, it connects to an external download manager. This is what fetches Open Office. Meanwhile, it is nice enough to present you will the following applications for installation.
Wajam
Cool! Wajam will happily take all of your personal data and do with it what it wishes.
Your Facebook, Google+ and Twitter user data is used by Wajim to give you personal results from friends based on what you search for. Wajam may use cookies, pisles and/or other means to collect your IP address, URLs of the pages you visit and other non-personally identifiable information in order to give you personal search results and show you advertising.
Sounds promising…




Pingback: Using Ubuntu To Create An Illegitimate Referral Based Profit Center